Each year, the club presents awards in several categories to members who have made outstanding achievmenets during the year. These are the winners of this year's awards

Most Improved Male - Sam Railson

His commitment to training and rowing mean that he has progressed quickly from his LTR last year through the Development Squad and is now a key member of the Mens Open Squad

Most Improved Female - Izzy Thyer

Izzy first joined us at 16 for circuits/ergs and had to wait a long time for the LTR courses to restart after the Covid Lockdowns to get on the water. She learnt quickly and is now proficient in sweep/sculling and coxing. She went away to Exeter Uni this year but has returned to train and compete with us back in MK throughout the season. She also competed in the Time Trials at HWR for her Uni Club in the Aspirational Lightweight 1x gaining valuable experience for next year.

Club person of the Year - Nick Hughes

This is voted for by the club members and here are a few of the comments received -

  • Despite sporting a knee injury, he comes down to the club and gets stuck-in in other ways. On numerous nights he came down to help boats come in and give some light coaching from our session feedback
  • for continuing to play such an active part supporting Learn to Row and the Development squad despite not being able to enjoy any rowing of his own at the moment
  • So much hard work. Soooo good. Lots of enthusiasm
  • excellent captain for Development and Learn To Row members and really puts in a lot of work into making everyone a better rower.
  • dedication to members and success of the club. Genuine interest in teaching people to row

Oarsman of the Year - Malcolm Haynes

After learning to row and scull at the age of 70 Malcolm continued to amaze us all by competing at the Scullers Head on the Tideway last September. This 7km race on the Thames is demanding enough in an 8+ or 4+ but to complete it in a 1x takes incredible determination and resilience. These are the qualities that I believe makes Malcolm the well deserved winner of Oarsman of the Year for 2022

Team of the Year - World Masters Team

After some consideration this award goes to the Team who represented the Club so well at the prestigious World Rowing Masters Regatta in Libourne. France achieving some solid performances and great times in all their 4 races against the best Masters athletes in the world.

The Gold Medal in the F4+ was the icing on the cake - a celebration of the commitment to all the training over many months throughout the year.

A last minute injury meant there had to be some changes to the final line-up to that 4+ but the medal was won by all those who erged, rowed, cycled, ran, swam and did weights and circuits - who encouraged and supported each other throughout the year.

Because that's what teamwork means.

The award goes to -

  • Kim Hutchinson
  • Paula Heywood
  • Suzanne De Maine
  • Lucy Guest
  • Lou Rivett
  • Karen Wilson
  • Helen Smith

Well done to all the winners and looking forward to next season !